The Rambling Recluse – Say hi to Onyew

People may be wondering what Th3rd Culture is and I never tire of talking about it. Th3rd Culture, to me is a meeting of a “New Generation” within a New Generation of Nigerians.  About a year ago, I had no job and was bored, so the idea to start a magazine popped into my head, I called Jite up (He’s always kind of been my problem solver) and asked him what he thought of the idea. My goodness was I surprised at how much ardor he showed toward what I thought at the time was a whimsical dream. He even had a name handy. In retrospect, I see he might have been playing around with the same idea too and I just happened to come along, ready to roll my sleeves up and work, (that in itself is an oddity as you will come to see as you meet more of us).

Th3rd Culture is a platform for me to express myself with no restrictions and to stand out as much as I can, instead of blending in to the plethora of ideas and expressions out there already. It is a platform for dissemination of information, not in that bland way that we are used to, but in a different way. Every member of Th3rd Culture is intensely creative, and unique. They are the most random individuals I know (“random” in a good way, of course). The fact that we are scattered around the world makes for even more fun, you can’t imagine how random an editorial meeting is. Our aim is to stand out, on purpose. I feel like we got tired of trying to blend in and just decided to be ourselves and Th3rd Culture was born. For a rambler like me, a place where I am allowed to ramble on is heaven.

I have never really fit in anywhere. Yes, that’s one of my most vivid memories. I’ve always been a little odd in comparison to the folks around me and have never really felt ‘among’ (forgive my use of that word, but it’s the best to describe what I felt). At first it was because I talked too much, then it became because I read too much, in Secondary/high School, it was because my ideas were too different/random/odd, pick your qualifier. Then I went into University and things changed. Of course I met a lot of the usual people, Members of the “Onyew is a weirdo” club, but then I ran into a very select few that I actually got along with, some of them didn’t think I was weird at all, “But then,” they would say, “How would we know? We are, after all, the weirdest and most random of them all”. Others would say, “If you weren’t at least a little insane, we wouldn’t be friends”.

Malory TowersI’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. Enid Blyton’s “Malory Towers” Series inspired my first story. I was about five then and I remember always having a notebook around me even then. I picked up my pen after reading that story for the millionth (Oh my goodness I just typed that word in there and Word didn’t reject it, sweet!) time and I started writing. It was a horrible story, but I never had as much fun as I did when the pen was in my hand and the words where flowing. My sister was my biggest critic and supporter, so she was the only one I’d let read my stories, if she said she didn’t like it, I’d go back and try to read it through her eyes. Because I was, and still am, an avid reader (according to my mum I was reading before I was two), I always had a good idea how an interesting story should go.

I hate leaving the confines of my house, but I love to go to new places. I hate crowds, parties, dinners and events, but I love to meet new and interesting people, actually I don’t really care about the new as long as they are interesting. I am extremely shy, but I’m also outrageously outspoken (yes, I am contradiction personified. Just get me in the right environment). I tend to ramble on and one day I was talking to a friend of mine, and he said “listening to you is like listening to a recluse ramble on.” I asked “Recluse?” and he said “Yes recluse, you don’t go anywhere so you are like a little hermit.” I haven’t laughed so hard since then. That day marked a distinct turn in my writing style, every time I wrote, I always thought of the piece as “The Ramblings of a Recluse” (See articles here). So, yes, as time goes by, we all evolve, and I did too. I realized that being a “weirdo” was almost a career for me. So, now my work goes with the mental tag, “The Reclusive Ramblings of A Career Weirdo”.

Onyew.

About th3rdculture

This is a place to go for entertainment, information and inspiration. It’s a place of escape, where you can find completely original content in the forms of written work by our esteemed Writers and great visuals courtesy of our Arts team. Creativity is gift which we want to share with the world, we're here to take you to places you can only imagine.
This entry was posted in General Info, Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

