READER CONTRIBUTION – Age of Earth by Temidayo

earth

How long would it take you to make one of these?

If I told you Methuselah lived just one day, you would see me as un-serious. But really, he did. In fact, to be precise, he lived 0.96 days. (Hmn!… Now I got your attention.)

Jesus said “I must do the work of Him that sent me while it is day: the night cometh when no man can work”- John 9:4. If I’m not mistaken, night and day make our 24hours complete, right? Jesus was fully aware and conscious of His proclamations. He lived 0.033days, and that’s 1/30 of a day. (I perceive a higher level of impatience and curiosity…but let’s keep going!)

Jesus knew He had a short time to live and a lot to accomplish. He knew He won’t have a night-”…the night cometh, when no man can work”-remember? I mentioned a few figures earlier, like Methuselah lived 0.96days and Jesus, 0.033days. Perhaps you’re wondering how I came about these figures, it’s just a bible based scale.(Here we go!) 2 Peter 3:8, Psalm 90:4, and Eccl 6:6 all say the same thing, which is “One day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years, one day” The just read scripture should help you understand why God rested on the seventh day.

sunset

No rest for the weary, snooze and you lose is the theory

Designing the Heavens and the Earth for six thousand (6000 according to my above scale) years was obviously no child’s play. But because a thousand years is like a day in His eyes, it was recorded as six days of work plus a day of rest.(“Let’s see where he’s going with this”, that’s the question, right?) Geologists and Geophysicists (of whom I’m one) believe via, carbon dating etc that the earth is approximately 4.7billion years. (Yeah! It’s that old! And anyway, I’m not going to start explaining radiometry here, I just want to help you understand my logic and why it’s true.)

earths_layers

Unfortunately you cant count the rings like a tree

Let’s do some arithmetic together (Oh, joy): If 1000 years is as 1 day to God, then 4,700,000,000 years is 4,700,000 days to God. While 365 days make 1 year. So 4,700,000 days make (4,700,000 ÷ 365) years, hence 4,700,000 days make 12,877 years. (Does that sound like a very long time?)

calculations

And you thought you wouldnt need math after school, didnt you?

Proof: Right now, we are in 2009 AD. The formation of the earth took 6,000 years, God rested for 1,000 years (It wasn’t easy!) Looking through the genealogy, from Adam to Jesus is approximately 4,000 years. All of these add up to about 13,000 years, which is an approximated value of 12,877 years as calculated earlier. The difference between the ages 13,000 and 12,877 is accounted for or explained to be due to the variation in the number of days that made a year then (360 days) and the number of days that make a year now (365days).

(You see? And there you have it. Common!…clap for T’Dee… Thank you.)

By Temidayo Shittu-Alamu

About th3rdculture

This is a place to go for entertainment, information and inspiration. It’s a place of escape, where you can find completely original content in the forms of written work by our esteemed Writers and great visuals courtesy of our Arts team. Creativity is gift which we want to share with the world, we're here to take you to places you can only imagine.
This entry was posted in Home, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to READER CONTRIBUTION – Age of Earth by Temidayo

  1. Funke says:

    Ah hah I always knew there was an that science did not exclude the truth of religious teaching. Nice Q.E.D T’Dee. I’m clapping pam pam pa pa pa pam

  2. Onyew says:

    Thank you! I know I’m not dumb. But u almost made me question my intelligence there. Wow. Nicely done. Now this rambler shall rest her head.

  3. tolui smart says:

    Waoh! I really can’t figure out how I got on this page. Weldone to u.

Leave a Reply

