3C MOVIE REVIEW – X-Men First class

So, welcome to a new section in the Th3rd Culture package. We all love distractions but some times picking the good movies from the bad can not only save you from a bad date, but also keep those pristine images of childhood heroes intact.

With the new wave of books turned movies and comics turned trilogies X-men is quite high up there (higher in some peoples eyes than others mind you). So I decided to help you all out and check out the X-Men Prequel.

Movies come and go, and some really stick with us emotionally, when I went to see the 1st X-Men movie ages ago and was pleasantly surprised. It didn’t stick with me (emotionally as the cast was good but not fantastic), but we did have many a banter session about plot points and the like for ages afterwards. However, after the 1st they made a couple other X-men movies which all fell far far farrr short of my fan-boy expectations (I really could go on for hours but I’ll spare y’all my diatribes).

So when they said it was time for a prequel I instantly re-lived the disappointments of the Star Wars movies (poor Darthvader looked like such a pansy and Padme just looked like a cradle snatcher)… But, I’ll warn all who’ve seen the X-Men 1st class trailer and are still unsure. This was a great movie. I could stop there and when you see it you will be right there with me (If you like sci-fi that is). What surprised me is the amount of character they are now putting in superhero movies, gone are the 1 dimensional characters and sole focus on effects (Dare Devil anyone?).

This movie had a massive cast (James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Bill Milner) and each one did their job phenomenally. The young Professor X and Magneto really did steal the show, with their crisp accents and on-point reaction times.

I do have to warn you that this is not an all out action flick, this movie was more focused on the story than on the super human feats. I was waiting for the all out action scene where magneto would stop a fusillade of bullets or Xavier would fling people away with his mind, but no such luck. Also I do have to say some of the character were well cast but really could have been better, I mean, the Hell Fire club, Moira McTaggart and Banchee all Americans all of a sudden? Don’t you dare!

But for the men out there all I can say is look out for the British lady in the white… Wink Wink.

Jite

About th3rdculture

This is a place to go for entertainment, information and inspiration. It’s a place of escape, where you can find completely original content in the forms of written work by our esteemed Writers and great visuals courtesy of our Arts team. Creativity is gift which we want to share with the world, we're here to take you to places you can only imagine.
This entry was posted in Home, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

