IT ANSWERS – Text Speak, Abbreviations to know.

So, everyday we seem to find ways to make things easier for our selves. Especially in the age of the text message, chat, tweet, etc. Grammar is really suffering for it but I have to admit, with out the aid of spell checkers, a lot of us may start crying on a regular basis when reading mails.

However, in this age of instant messages, more and more short codes for long words seem to keep emerging and as always we are here to shed some light on the subject.

Check out our nice long list of messaging and txt abbreviations, now you’ll never be lost in the conversation. Oh and feel free to send us some we missed out in the comments section:

AAP – Always a pleasure
ADP – Any Day Now
AFAIK – As Far As I Know
AFK – Away From Keyboard
ASAP – As Soon As Possible
A/S/L – Age/Sex/Location
ATM – At The Moment
B/F – Boyfriend
B4 – Before
B4N – Bye For Now
BBIAF – Be Back In A Few
BBIAM – Be Back In A Minute
BBL – Be Back Later
BC – Because
BF – Best Friend
BFF – Best Friends Forever
BFN – Bye For Now
BOL – Best Of Luck
BRB – Be Right Back
BTW – By The Way
CU – See You
CYA – See You
D/L – Download -or- Down Low
DIKU – Do I Know You?
FWIW – For What It’s Worth
FYEO – For Your Eyes Only
FYI – For Your Information
G/F – Girlfriend
G2G – Got To Go
GB – Goodbye
GL – Good Luck
GR8 – Great
GTG – Got To Go
HAGS – Have A Great Summer
HF – Have Fun
HRU – How Are You?
IAC – In Any Case
IANAL – I Am Not A Lawyer
IC – I See
IDK – I Don’t Know

IIRC – If I Remember Correctly

IJN – In Jesus Name
IYM – In your mind

IM – Instant Message
IMHO – In My Humble Opinion
IMNSHO – In My Not So Humble Opinion
IMO – In My Opinion
IRC – Instant Relay Chat

IRL – In Real Life
JK – Just Kidding
JKBNR – Just Kidding, But Not Really
KIT – Keep In Touch

KMT – Kiss My Teeth
L8 – Later
L8R – Later
LMAO – Laughing My Ass Off
LOL – Laughing out Loud
LTNS – Long Time No See

LWKM – Laff wan kill me

LWKMD – Laff wan kill me die
M8 – Mate
MF – Male or Female?
MYOB – Mind Your Own Business
NBD – No Big Deal
NM – Never Mind
NMP – Not My Problem
NOYB – None Of Your Business
NP – No Problem
OIC – Oh, I See
OMG – Oh My God
OMW – On My Way
OP – On Phone
OTL – Out to Lunch
OTOH – On The Other Hand
OTW – Off To work
PLZ – Please
POS – Piece Of Excrement
PPL – People
RL – Real Life
ROTFL – Rolling On The Floor Laughing
RSN – Real Soon Now
RTFM – Read The F-bomb Manual

SMH – Shake my head
SPST – Same Place Same Time
STR8 – Straight
TAFN – That’s All For Now
TBD – To Be Determined
THX – Thanks

TMI – Too Much Information

TNX – Thanks
TTFN – Ta Ta For Now
TTYL – Talk To You Later
UL – Upload
WB – Welcome Back
WK – Weekend
WTF – What The F?
WTG – Way To Go
WTS – What the Shizzle?

WWJD – What would Jesus do?

X – kiss

XOXO – Hugs and kisses

YB – Yes Boss

Zzzz – Sleep or boring

About th3rdculture

This is a place to go for entertainment, information and inspiration. It’s a place of escape, where you can find completely original content in the forms of written work by our esteemed Writers and great visuals courtesy of our Arts team. Creativity is gift which we want to share with the world, we're here to take you to places you can only imagine.
This entry was posted in Home, Words and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

