ILLUSIONS OF GRANDEUR – Bradey’s Blog (Oscar Wild)

(Bradey’s Blog are the musings of an average guy, coming to terms with life, love and all that good stuff. He tells it like it is and that’s all there is to it.)

Entry: 156,
Location: Hospital Reception
 


I just had a very serious talk with my parents about going to college. I’m a very myopic long term thinker. I know that doesn’t make any sense but let me explain. I know I want to go to college in England and do my master’s in Japan but I’ve never thought it through. I’ve never even really thought about what I want to major in, but I just know it should have nothing to do with chemistry. Never failed chemistry before but all the same, I just hate it. My brother would always say, “Because all your shit’s together, doesn’t mean it don’t stink.” Coming to think about it, I don’t really know what it means but it has something to do with what I’ve just said.

My thoughts on how college life should be

So, I went back to my room to continue reading for the exams I had to write. I plugged my speakers to my laptop and put the “gym class heroes” on. Two hours later, my brain was saturated with “sanctimonious”-es, “germane”-s and “gypsiferous”-es and so on. I went down to the kitchen to make my favourite peanut butter and strawberry jam sandwiches. My brother always comes when he smells the toasting bread in the sandwich maker, takes a huge mouthful out of one and goes back to whatever he was doing.

We had been arguing for about five minutes, I had to save my sandwiches, when we heard gunshots outside. Instinctively, we dropped to the floor. I pulled out my cell phone and dialled emergency to report the case. While I did that, my brother went to switch off the lights.

“Yo! Suzie! What they say?” asked Ola condescendingly. He had a habit of calling me girls’ names.

“Dummy! They’re on their way. They’ll be here in a few.” I answered as I looked through the curtains. “Bro, there’re two black cars outside Oscar’s house. I think that’s where the shots came from.”

I never mentioned it before but Oscar’s house was right across from ours. We’ve been neighbours since I can remember.

“Let’s go see what’s happening? Or are you a scaredy-cat?” James taunted.

“Fine, let’s go!”

So we went out of the kitchen back door, and snuck behind the cars. We saw silhouettes running around inside the house. There were about five men leaning against the side of the car facing the house. Then, out the front door comes ballsy Oscar, steps unflinching and brave.

“Hey! Hey! Hey! Guys! What do you want?”

“I’m Rijk Van Der Bilt. The boss just wants it to be clear to you. You should keep away from his girl.” said one of the men.

“Who? Who’s the boss? Who’s the boss’s girl? This is all rubbish. You can’t treat people like this. Get the fuck off my father’s property!”

“Ooooh! Feisty, aren’t you? You, little retard! There are five of us, armed and there’s only one of you. Who the fuck do you think you are?”

“Remember the fucking name, you stupid lapdog, it’s Oscar Vaart. This is ridiculous. Some fucking old fart wants her. Okay, I’ll leave her alone but don’t you come here threatening me and my family.”

“Look here, you little fuck. You are definitely going to regret this.”

The other four men begun to enter their respective vehicles, so we snuck round the back and went to stand by Oscar. The man that remained outside looked furious. He spoke:

“Do not forget mine either. The next time you hear it, you better quiver.”

His hand came out from his trench coat, pistol in hand. He pointed it at Oscar’s Dad’s red sports car and shot one of the headlights. Oscar’s anger escalated. He rushed forward to punch the man but we pulled him back. Then, we heard sirens blaring from a distance.

“Better run back to your mama, prick!” spat Oscar venomously.

I had no idea why he did that but from that moment, I knew my respect for Oscar had doubled, if not tripled. Then, he pushed off our hold on him and rushed again. The next thing I knew, I heard a gunshot, Oscar was on the ground, Rijk had a purple eye and there were three police cars on the street. Rijk waltzed over to one of them, hand on his right eye, dropped an envelope and left with his entourage.

Oscar lay on the floor, blood gushing from his belly. We did the best we could do until the ambulance came. Darned police bastards let those fools just go. What is this world coming to? Oscar’s parents were in hysteria. They had already made up their minds not to press charges for their safety. Even as they weren’t, the police weren’t going to investigate the case anyway, so we had to get back at this whole mafia thing ourselves.

We followed the ambulance to the hospital and went through the entire trauma with his parents but knowing Oscar, he was going to be okay and come back twice as strong and twice as stubborn and ballsy as before.

About th3rdculture

This is a place to go for entertainment, information and inspiration. It’s a place of escape, where you can find completely original content in the forms of written work by our esteemed Writers and great visuals courtesy of our Arts team. Creativity is gift which we want to share with the world, we're here to take you to places you can only imagine.
This entry was posted in Home, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

